

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes Annual Board Retreat (day 1 of 2)

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Location:Virtual - ZOOM Video Conference
URL:https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84923976629?pwd=Vm9aNWk3Ly9HQ3U0aFhNNUF1UEFSZz09
Meeting ID: 313 873 914Password: 819027Time:8:30am – 12:00pm
Board Chair called the meeting to order at 8:46am

Attendees:

Participating Trustees: Jason Andrean Rufus Davis Amber Jackson Barbara Nophlin Ursula Wright Patricia Grant

DeeDee George Julie Johnson Dwight Draughon Ed Williams Susan Rosenbaum

Staff: Shantelle Wright, Founder and CEO Sarah Lewis, Chief of Schools Greg Gaines, Chief Operations Officer Tamiko Singleton, Special Projects Manager Shanquette Dannah, Special Assistant to the Founder/CEO

Guests: Carrie Irvin - Education Board Partners (retreat facilitator)

Absent: Kenneth Ward Ahmed Ali

Welcome (Jason Andrean)

Quorum established and the meeting called to order at 8:46am. Jason introduces Carrie Irvin, Education Board Partner.

Agenda and Discussion (Carrie and Shantelle Wright)

Carrie reviews agenda and leads presentation and discussion with trustees. Trustees introduce themselves and titles. Carrie reviews CEO goals from Spring. Shantelle discusses the Evolution of APA and its board over time.

Discussion re: School Governance and State of Board Discussion re: Board Goals

Goals for 20-21SY are discussed.

Achievement Prep Network Office



Goals include:

- Improving School Culture for Staff, Scholars, and Parents
- Solid COVID response and framework
- Achieving Academic Results
- Reflective Practices

Discussion re: Board committees

Jason suggested increasing the number of Board meetings to monthly (currently bi-monthly). Discussion. Board Meetings are now scheduled every third Wednesday as opposed to every other third Wednesday.

Discussion re: Board secretary. DeeDee George nominated for the role of secretary.

Vote: Jason motioned to elect DeeDee George as Board Secretary. Amber Jackson seconded. All in favor. Motion is carried.

Closing Business (Jason Andrean)

Jason Andrean thanked attendees for their time and service. Barbara Nophlin Grant motioned to adjourn; Ursula Wright seconded. All in favor. Meeting adjourned at 11:56pm.