

Board of Directors Meeting

2 July 2020 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm APPROVED

Meeting to Order:

7:32 pm

Attendance:

From the Board—Diana Banks (chair), Atiyah Schroeter, Kandis Gibson (secretary), Doug Hollis, John Boochever, Ted Joseph (treasurer), Chante Chambers, Natalia Bovkun, Esther Wetherbee

From the School—Janine Gomez (Executive Director), Matt Whitnall (Director of Operations), Leensa Fufa (Director of Inquiry/Learning), and Erin Hudson (Principal)

1. ED Update (J. Gomez)

- Executive director provided an update on the start of school preparations including staff hiring and COVID-19 response and plan.
 - School team meets Wednesdays with families
- It was shared that Erin Hudson was just hired as principal, after serving as principal consultant. E. Hudson shared words of welcome.
- School and Board Calendar
 - The board needs to submit a calendar to PCSB by July 7th with its meetings for the 2020-2021 School year. D. Hollis is working on this document.
 - Board calendar will need to align with the school calendar and include an annual planning meeting.

2. Committee Readouts and Transitions

- Talent Hiring Committee shared this will be handled by school administration, but they will continue to consult with Board member C. Chambers.
- Finance and operations-- The Finance responsibilities will continue to be a Board function and operations will shift completely to the school administration. There still remains a facilities component that will remain with the Board.
- Instruction-- All instruction related items will remain with the school team.
- Learner recruitment-- Enrollment will mostly be a responsibility of school administration. The Board will continue to help elevate the brand, engage, and expose families to IDPCS and events.
- Board Chair (D Banks) will circulate a summary of the committee updates and all outstanding items.



- 3. Board Chair Position
 - The position is being vacated by Diana Banks.
 - D. Hollis presents the slate of candidates from previous interest inquiries Kandis Gibson is the only candidate,
 - MOTION: Board Chair Slate
 - o Motion to Approve-- D. Hollis
 - o Motion Seconded- N. Bovkun
 - o VOTE: Board Chair Slate
 - o Doodle Poll was circulated and K. Gibson elected as the Board Chair
- 4. Recognition of tremendous service of Board Chair and founding Board member A. Schroeter who will be rolling off..

Meeting concluded at 9:00 pm

_