Rocketship Public Schools -- DC MEETING MINUTES June 4, 2020

I. Call to Order Rocketship Public Schools -- DC

This meeting was called to order at 3:04pm. In attendance, in-person, were Chair Joey Sloter, Treasurer Justin Bakewell, Simone Brown, Melissa Martin, Tom Nida, Jacque Patterson, Kesha Battle, Zakiya Sackor, and Barry Rosenthal. MenSa Maa was absent from the meeting. Also present were Preston Smith, Tamika Joyner, Rena Johnson, Cheye Calvo and Analeigh Smith. Rose Waller also joined the meeting.

II. Consent Items

On a motion by Jacque Patterson, seconded by Justin Bakewell, the Board voted 8-0 to approve the consent agenda, which included minutes from the February 20, 2020 meeting, the addition of new Board member Rose Waller, and the re-appointments of Jolene Sloter and Justin Bakewell. The consent agenda and the vote also included the approval of Rocketship-DC Infinity Community Prep and the charter agreement's PMF as Goals language so that it aligns with the recently updated PMF as Goals Policy.

III. Schools Report

Rena Johnson, Interim Executive Director, presented citywide and distance learning updates and school progress.

IV. 2019-20 Committee Updates

Achievement Committee Chair Melissa Martin and Business Committee Chair Justin Bakewell provided updates to the Board.

V. 2020-21 Annual Planning

Rena Johnson and Joyanna Smith provided updates on the Rallying Cry and next steps taken to operationalize the strategic vision. Tamika Joyner, Associate Director of Growth and Community Engagement, provided enrollment projection updates for all three campuses and the recruitment plans. Laura Kozel, Vice President of Facilities and Real Estate, provided an update on the DC3 opening plans.

VI. DC Leadership Structure Interim Final Discussion/Feedback

Board member Rena Johnson presented potential personnel changes and presented an opportunity for final feedback regarding the plan.

VII. Business Items

The Board voted to approve the SY20-21 budget and the personnel change.

IX. CEO Update

Preston Smith, Chief Executive Officer, provided closing remarks.

Meeting Minutes prepared on August 5, 2020